Web Content View

Web Content View

Content starts here.

VetSuccess on Campus

The Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) is developing innovative ways to help Veterans make the transition to college life. The VetSuccess on Campus (VSOC) program aims to help Veterans, Servicemembers, and their qualified dependents succeed and thrive through a coordinated delivery of on-campus benefits assistance and counseling, leading to completion of their education and preparing them to enter the labor market in viable careers. Read the VetSuccess on Campus (VSOC) fact sheet.

The VSOC program provides a VA Vocational Rehabilitation Counselor (VRC) to each VSOC school. These VRCs are called VetSuccess on Campus (VSOC) Counselors. A VA Vet Center Outreach Coordinator is also provided, and co-located on many campuses, to provide peer-to-peer counseling and referral services.

Through the VSOC program, VA is strengthening partnerships with institutions of higher learning and creating opportunities to help Veterans achieve success by providing outreach and transition services during their transition from military to college life. VSOC Counselors ensure that Veterans receive the support and assistance needed to pursue their educational and employment goals. Because VSOC Counselors are easily accessible on campus they help resolve any problems that could potentially interfere with a Veteran's educational program, to include assisting with disability accommodations. If needed, they can also provide referrals for health services through VA Medical Centers, Community-Based Outpatient Clinics, or Vet Centers.

The VSOC program began as a pilot program in 2009 at the University of South Florida. The VSOC program expanded to 32 schools by the end of Fiscal Year 2012. In Fiscal Year 2013, the VSOC program expanded again to an additional 62 campuses, bringing the total number of VSOC sites to 94.

VSOC Locations and VSOC Counselor Contact Information
School Name VSOC Counselor Email Address Regional Office
Alabama
Troy University Rickey Jones Rickey.Jones@va.gov Montgomery (322)
University of Alabama Lisa Fells Lisa.Fells@va.gov Montgomery (322)
Alaska
University of Alaska - Anchorage Terry Jackson Terry.Jackson@va.gov Anchorage (463)
Arizona
Arizona State University Troy Rundle Troy.Rundle@va.gov Phoenix (345)
Arkansas
University of Arkansas Brian Burgess Brian.Burgess@va.gov Little Rock 350)
Northwest Arkansas Community College
California
California State University - Long Beach Lois Daz Lois.Daz@va.gov Los Angeles (344)
Long Beach City College
Mt. San Antonio College Gary Rusth Gary.Rusth@va.gov Los Angeles (344)
Citrus College
Saddleback College Jamie Bacon Jamie.Bacon@va.gov Los Angeles (344)
Irvine Valley College
Pasadena City College Keri Fujiwara Keri.Fujiwara@va.gov Los Angeles (344)
California State University - Los Angeles
Los Angeles City College
American River College Ryan Feil Ryan.Feil2@va.gov Oakland (343)
San Diego State University Natacia Cordle Natacia.Cordle@va.gov San Diego (377)
Mira Costa College Brenda Olsen Brenda.Olsen@va.gov San Diego (377)
District of Columbia
George Washington University Roger Deason Roger.Deason@va.gov National Capital Region Benefits Office (372)
Florida
Northwest Florida State College Randy Lanier Randall.Lanier@va.gov Montgomery (322)
University of West Florida Becky Baisden Rebecca.Baisden@va.gov Montgomery (322)
University of South Florida Jeanine Frederick Jeanine.Frederick@va.gov St. Petersburg (317)
Florida State University Siouxniqua Smith Siouxniqua.Smith@va.gov St. Petersburg (317)
Tallahassee Community College
Florida International University Marquay Smith Marquay.Smith@va.gov St. Petersburg (317)
University of Florida Charlotte KemperCharlotte.Kemper@va.gov St. Petersburg (317)
Santa Fe College
Florida State College at Jacksonville Brittany Beimourtrusting Brittany.Beimourtrusting@va.gov
Carl Schorr Carl.Schorr@va.gov
St. Petersburg (317)
Hawaii
Hawaii Pacific University Gwen DangGwen.Dang@va.gov Honolulu (459)
Leeward Community College Csaba Hutoczki Csaba.Hutoczki@va.gov Honolulu (459)
University of Hawaii - Manoa
Idaho
Boise State University Sean Burlile Sean.Burlile@va.gov Salt Lake City (341)
Illinois
Southwestern Illinois College Armando De La Garza Armando.DeLaGarza@va.gov Chicago (328)
University of Illinois - Urbana Champaign Jason Abrams Jason.Abrams@va.gov Chicago (328)
Kansas
Johnson County Community College Shanti Ramcharan Shanti.Ramcharan@va.gov Wichita (452)
Kentucky
Eastern Kentucky University Kim Dickey Wakender.Dickey@va.gov Louisville (327)
University of Kentucky Carlton Hylander Carlton.Hylander@va.gov Louisville (327)
Bluegrass Community College
Maryland
University of Maryland - University College Diane Wilson Diane.Wilson2@va.gov
Shonda McLaughlin Shonda.McLaughlin@va.gov
National Capital Region Benefits Office (372)
Michigan
Kalamazoo Valley Community College Brent Haddow Brent.Haddow@va.gov Detroit (329)
Kellogg Community College
Western Michigan University
Eastern Michigan University Reginald Rogers Reginald.Rogers2@va.gov Detroit (329)
University of Michigan - Ann Arbor
Washtenaw Community College
Missouri
Webster University - St. Louis Jason Blakemore Jason.Blakemore@va.gov St. Louis (331)
Nebraska
Bellevue University Candice Watson Candice.Watson@va.gov Lincoln (334)
University of Nebraska - Omaha Anna Sabina-Stratton Anna.Sabina-Stratton@va.gov Lincoln (334)
Nevada
University of Nevada - Las Vegas Anthoneal Newman Anthoneal.Newman@va.gov Reno (354)
New Jersey
Rutgers University Valerie Williams Valerie.Williams1@va.gov Newark (309)
Middlesex County College
New Mexico
Central New Mexico Community College Esmerejildo "JR" Romero Esmerejildo.Romero@va.gov Albuquerque (340)
University of New Mexico Gwen Nutter Gwendolyn.Nutter@va.gov Albuquerque (340)
New York
Syracuse University Kate Untiedt Katherine.Untiedt@va.gov Buffalo (307)
North Carolina
East Carolina University Rick Poe James.Poe2@va.gov Winston-Salem (318)
Ohio
Cleveland State University Dennis Ward Dennis.Ward@va.gov Cleveland (325)
The Ohio State University Denise Bays-Napier Denise.Bays-Napier2@va.gov Cleveland (325)
University of Cincinnati Jill Cochran Jill.Cochran@va.gov Cleveland (325)
Oregon
Portland State University Mark Lettiere Mark.Lettiere@va.gov Portland (348)
Portland Community College Steve Gordon Steven.Gordon@va.gov Portland (348)
Pennsylvania
Harrisburg Area Community College Edward Daschbach Edward.Daschbach@va.gov Philadelphia (310)
Rhode Island
Community College of Rhode Island Micaela Black-Estrella Micaela.Black@va.gov Providence (304)
Rhode Island College
South Carolina
Midlands Technical College Ellen Braswell Mary.Braswell@va.gov Columbia (319)
Tennessee
Middle Tennessee State University Heather Conrad Heather.Conrad@va.gov Nashville (320)
Austin Peay State University - Clarksville Tim Schoonover Timothy.Schoonover@va.gov Nashville (320)
Texas
University of Texas - San Antonio Wendy Foster Wendy.Foster@va.gov
J. Michael Silva Jose.Silva3@va.gov
Houston (362)
Sam Houston State University Roberta Ardoin Roberta.Ardoin@va.gov Houston (362)
San Antonio College Sylvia Jackson Sylvia.Jackson3@va.gov Houston (362)
Lone Star College System - University Park Marc McWhorter Marc.McWhorter@va.gov Houston (362)
Houston Community College Evette Ned Evette.Ned@va.gov Houston (362)
University of Houston Ralph Harrison Ralph.Harrison@va.gov Houston (362)
Texas A&M University - Central Texas Candy Lopez Candice.Lopez@va.gov Waco (349)
Tarrant County College - South Douglas Smith Douglas.Smith1@va.gov Waco (349)
Tarrant County College - Northeast William Cobb William.Cobb@va.gov Waco (349)
Central Texas College Greg Primas Gregory.Primas@va.gov
James Morgan James.Morgan3@va.gov
Waco (349)
Texas A&M University - College Station Lynne Muller-McIntyre
Lynne.Muller-McIntyre@va.gov
Waco (349)
Austin Community College Brad Robichaux Brad.Robichaux@va.gov Waco (349)
University of Texas - Arlington Shalonda Taylor Shalonda.Taylor@va.gov Waco (349)
Utah
Salt Lake Community College Mike Foster Michael.Foster@va.gov Salt Lake City (341)
University of Utah Alan Heal Alan.Heal@va.gov Salt Lake City (341)
Virginia
George Mason University Demetria Brooks Demetria.Brooks@va.gov National Capital Region Benefits Office (372)
Northern Virginia Community College - Alexandria Jason Hunter Jason.Hunter@va.gov National Capital Region Benefits Office (372)
Northern Virginia Community College - Annandale
Norfolk State University Donecia Lawson Donecia.Lawson@va.gov Roanoke (314)
Tidewater Community College - Norfolk
Tidewater Community College - Chesapeake Tim Cornette Timothy.Cornette@va.gov Roanoke (314)
Tidewater Community College - Portsmouth
Tidewater Community College - Virginia Beach Carla Riggins Carla.Riggins@va.gov Roanoke (314)
Old Dominion University April Miller April.C.Miller@va.gov Roanoke (314)
ECPI University Maureen Gibson Maureen.Gibson@va.gov Roanoke (314)
Liberty University Mildred Hall Mildred.Hall@va.gov Roanoke (314)
St. Leo University - South Hampton Saundra Hayes Saundra.Hayes@va.gov Roanoke (314)
Wisconsin
University of Wisconsin - Milwaukee Gretchen Schuttey Gretchen.Schuttey@va.gov Milwaukee (330)

Updated: 03/04/2014